Tags

, , , , ,

Sometimes it feels like the miles run together. I forget what month it is, what day it is, what time it is. I wonder about my significance. What can I accomplish as I travel from place to place each day? Will it matter?

Out here on the road, I have to make my own predictable structure. It doesn’t happen like it did when I lived in one place and had a job during certain hours, regular days off, social and spiritual gatherings at regular times each week, etc. I have to be proactive or it won’t happen.

A big part of my routine includes my travel calendar which I try to mark every morning before we get on the road. I’ve found it to be a good way to note the day of the week and the date. It also has a section to keep up my ever present Walmart list, which is a habit I started well before I joined my husband on the road.

One thing that is kind of built in is the routine of getting the truck ready for the day and then ready again for the night. Similar to being at home, we have to open the curtains in the morning except our curtains hook on the inside of the windshield and door windows. Because we don’t have a lot of storage room, there are always a few things that need to be secured on the beds before we head out; the curtains, computer, laundry, etc. In the evening the routine is reversed before we go to bed, my husband on the bottom bunk and me on the top bunk. On those days when the miles seem to never end and or the weather leaves much to be desired, I am usually very ready for that evening routine.

The significance issue is one I’ve dealt with as far back as I can remember, as I’m sure many others have. Living in one place and seeing the same people daily seems to present a simpler backdrop to have a positive impact than being in a different place with different people each day. However, as a Christian, I believe that God can and will use me anywhere and however He chooses, so the backdrop doesn’t really matter. I also believe it’s likely that most times when we have a positive impact on those around us, we don’t see the results for a long time if ever.

So, essentially all the sometimes questions I opened this blog post with require my day to day attention if I am to avoid being paralyzed or overwhelmed by them. As a person who has dealt with panic disorder and depression for a large chunk of my life, I’ve had quite a bit of experience working at keeping that balance, so I have acquired some positive habits to help me with these new challenges one day at a time.

And so, I look forward to today as an open book, keeping my eyes open for opportunities to do good, believing that all our little actions add up to more than we can fathom or see with our limited capacities.

Until next time readers, thank you for reading and drive safely J

