Tags

, , ,

Would’t it be great if there were some way to remember the memories we can’t remember? I’ve read articles about the brain that imply that everything we experience is recorded somewhere in it’s many wrinkles. I’ve also read that the ability of the brain to retrieve those recordings varies from person to person based on age and genetics.
Sadly, I’ve never had a fabulous long term memory. Which brings me to our Friday and Saturday journey in New England.
We started in Pennsylvania then went through New Jersey, New York, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Most of these states figure significantly into my childhood, but it makes me a little sad that I don’t remember more of it.
There was Summerville, NJ when I was a toddler, which I only know because my parents told me. I went to kindergarten on Otis AFB in Massachusetts. I remember snippets of that; eating sand, meeting my sister’s first cat, getting hit by a flying baseball bat. My parents grew up in New Jersey, so we visited family there on occasion and even spent most of my 5th grade year living in my mom’s hometown. My family decided it was nice to visit, but we didn’t want to live there. That was one year I remember more than enough of; going to school the day after 2 feet of snow fell, a class full of kids who seemed to think I was a freak, a teacher who was 72 and seemed to hate children.
Some of my parents family lived in Pennsylvania, so we visited there some, too. I remember a fun Christmas when I developed a crush on my second cousin, saw a real microwave in action and ate so much I threw up on our way back to NJ.
This time in New England, I got to see Clinton,  Massachusetts where we picked up our load. I was impressed by the beauty of this little, New England town.

image

image

image

image

The Dam was amazing and hopefully very strong as the edge of the lake was covered with houses. I figured the whole town must be well insured.
One thing I have observed about my impression of New England then versus now is how much more variety I see. As a child I mostly saw tiny, crowded cities that fairly melted into each other. As a teen and adult, I’ve had opportunity to see more of the countryside, forests and mountains, which can be quite beautiful.
I suppose there are pluses and minuses to having a weaker long term memory versus a stronger one. At least my memory doesn’t take me back to my diaper days.

Thanks for following my blog, readers.
Until next time, drive safely 🙂

