North Carolina has been home to me for most of my life thus far, so our trek from the western part of the state to the eastern part over the past two days has been interesting.

image

Western NC

image

We passed through Waynesville, where we had spent several years. I was in Walmart there on 9/11. We didn’t own a television at the time, so my first glimpse of the towers occured while I was shopping with my little girl.

image

image

Asheville was nearly an hour away from our home, but it was where our nearest mall was. Yeah, western NC is an area of mostly little, no mall having towns.
Amazingly, even though we lived in the area for 4 years, we haven’t been to the famed Biltmore House. Maybe one day we’ll get there.

image

Buncombe County, NC

image

It still amazes me to see the clouds dancing around the mountains. Driving through those clouds is rather amazing, too.
By dinner time we had reached Hickory, where we lived up until last fall. We enjoyed one of those rare treats in the trucking business–a bit of leway in our schedule to allow for dinner with family. There was only a little over an hour to spare, but we got to spend it with my parents. The time was short, but we all enjoyed the catching up before getting back on the road.
Believe it or not, we dropped in Farmville this morning. It’s a little town about an hour or so north of where I spent the last half of my childhood and a large chunk of my 20’s. Too bad the weather was more of the cool and wet variety and not one of the 65 and sunny days I remember so well from winters past. I guess it’s a good reminder of how our current perspective tends to color our perception of our yesterdays.

Until next time, readers, drive (and shop) safely 🙂

