Tags

, , , ,

Morning found us scrambling to get to our appointment on time. We both had been dealing with a cold virus and the desire to move more slowly was right there with it.
We arrived at the shipper with no time to spare and fully expected to be loaded and on our way within an hour. That didn’t happen.
We sat in the truck–beautiful Pennsylvania farmland surrounding us–and waited while the Dutch Amish men loaded tobacco into our trailer. They took about an hour to finish, then everyone went to lunch. Unfortunately, the woman running the office had failed to do our paperwork before leaving. So, we waited, while horses with buggies trotted by now and then.
Thankfully, there was a restroom available, but that was the extent of ammenities offered. There was no driver’s waiting area or vending machines, which is most often the case for shippers and receivers. Usually, no matter how long the loaders or unloaders take to do their job, the driver is stuck sitting in his tractor.
For me, sitting can be a blessing because it allows me to work on my writing without being bounced all over the place by uneven road surfaces. I’ve decided that riding on certain highways gives me a good idea of what James Bond’s martini feels like when the bartender makes it. And, I did work on my novel while we waited….and waited.
By the time we left on our trek to the receiver, my husband had been inside 4 times to check on the paperwork and been told at one point that if the farmers who kept coming by to drop off tobacco crops had to wait for their paperwork, they’d be there a long time. Yeah, after we had been there about 4 1/2 hours, the lady told him that. So, he stood there in front of her desk until he at long last had his finished paperwork in hand.
By this point we had been there 5 hours with little to eat or drink and we were very hungry. So, off we went to find the nearest scale to weigh the load and the nearest restaurant we could park at. On our way, we had to go back through downtown Lancaster. I don’t think I’d ever want to live there because it’s so crowded, but I do like the look of the rowhouses.

image

image

This quaint little town is also not a great place for a tractor trailer because of  the tight streets and intersections. There was one point in this adventure that took some seriously sharp thinking from an experienced driver. I was not that driver.

image

My hubby did a great job, though, and we were both way ready to be well fed and back on the open road.
Well, until next time readers, I hope you have a great weekend and drive safely 🙂

