Learning new things has been important to me for most of my adult life. It wasn’t quite as important to me as a child, since it was required of me to learn mostly what adults
chose for me to learn. But, truly, I’ve enjoyed learning things of interest to me my whole life.

Knitting is one of the things I started learning in my late thirties. I had been crocheting since my teens and was pretty much convinced I couldn’t learn to knit. Eventually, however, I became determined to make it happen. So, I bought a magazine, some yarn and a pair of mid-size knitting needles and set to work. My early attempts weren’t very good, but I kept at it until my pieces started resembling the photos that accompanied the knitting patterns. And, after much practice and persistence, I’ve managed to produce quite a few pieces I’m actually proud of along with a few that didn’t work out so well. But that’s okay, because I like a challenge sometimes and if I were to stop learning new stitches, I would probably quit knitting.

IMG_20150124_140727[1]

my most recent knitting project 🙂

Another skill I’m endeavoring to hone and expand on is writing. I’ve always been more lingual than, say, athletic or mathematically gifted, but it’s taken me many years to learn how to stick to a big project until it’s finished. About 3 1/4 years ago, I started writing a novel for the second time. (the first one was one of those projects that didn’t make it very far) As of yesterday evening, my first rough draft is completed except for the epilogue, and I find I’m quite excited about that.

My newest learning project is one I’ve begun several times in my life already: learning a second language. I’ve tried French, Spanish and German in the past, and Spanish seemed to me to be the one I have the most hope of learning because of it’s simplicity and the fact that I see examples of it on products and signs almost every day. I also decided it would be the most practical language for me to learn because of how prevalent it has become in so much of the United States. I had tried learning it in school and also on my own from a book and CD, but I recently found out about an app called duolingo that allows me to do small amounts everyday and to review as I need to. I’ve been working on it for a couple of weeks now and I believe the ease of the app and it’s game like quality may help me to stick with it long enough to be able to hold a conversation with my Panamanian mother-in-law. I’ll keep you posted.

Some of the other things I’ve been researching and studying along the way are my Scottish ancestry, nutrition, blogging, the Bible and information technology. Some of the things I’ve tried in the past to learn and find I’m still interested in pursuing when I have the time and money to do so are running, cycling, sewing and library science.

I suppose the learning experience I spend most of my time immersed in at this point in my life is the trucking business. If you’ve been following my blog from the beginning, you’ve read about some of the things I’ve been learning on that subject so far, and I’m sure I’ve got much more to learn, too. But, as I age from day to day, I’m planning on continuing to learn many other things–perhaps things I haven’t even thought of–until I’m unable to learn anymore.

Until next time readers, drive safely out there 🙂

