Tags

,

20150721_094426

Penguins preening themselves

20150721_111613

Flamingos, also preening themselves

Summertime in central Indiana has been very wet this year. I know this because in Indianapolis since the end of May working as a hairstylist and enjoying some time living in a house that doesn’t move. It’s not that I don’t miss certain parts of traveling shotgun with my husband, but there are certain things I like about living in one place, as well. For example, I’ve been enjoying time with my daughter who has been home from college since shortly after I arrived. One of our recent outings included a trip to the Indianapolis Zoo which is actually fairly impressive for a zoo located in the downtown area of a large city.

We also ventured onto a few hiking trails in a beautiful park nearby. With all the rain we’ve had, there were a few areas along the way that made us grateful for our waterproof boots. Still, the chance to do some hiking and enjoy the woods has been another of the things I miss when I’m out on the road.

20150721_105758

Some kind of stork….looked like he could take care of himself well…he was preening, too….go figure

20150721_101114

bored Lemur

20150721_100025

boring Koala….they were just sleeping and looking not dangerous

20150721_093615

Rays swimming around looking at the humans looking at them

I’ve also been taking full advantage of the consistent wi-fi provided by my landlord. There has been much catching up on favorite TV series’ such as Doctor Who, Castle, Wallander, Broadchurch and Psych along with a few DVDs I’ve had delivered through my Netflix account. Which reminds me of another thing I get to do when I’m in one place–check the mail every week or two instead of every month or two.

More stuff I like here: Sleeping on a big bed, a bathroom within a few feet of my bedroom, a washer and dryer right next to that, a kitchen where I can bake stuff and keep ice cream frozen, a closet big enough to hang all my clothes in, drawers for my other stuff, access to Walmart and Joann whenever I want yarn and other stuff, a local library with physical books to put on hold and check out, houseplants, and driving.

But, alas, I miss being with my husband every day and knitting when I want to. I miss not having to cut peoples’ hair or clean the bathroom. I miss seeing sunrises and sunsets from my shotgun position. I miss listening to audio books and reading e-books. I miss the sense of adventure that comes with being in a different place almost every day and visiting places I’ve never been.

I’ve definitely enjoyed the perks that have come with being here in Indy for the summer and I’m looking forward to a few more hikes in the park. The local kids are already back in school and my daughter will be heading back to college in a few short weeks. And, after much debate and consideration of all the pluses and minuses of home versus road life, I’ve decided to resume my position riding shotgun with my husband as he travels the country delivering stuff. As I prepare to head back out, I look forward to time with my husband, blogging, knitting and taking photos again. I welcome you all to read along as you will and, until next time, be safe out there. šŸ™‚

