Tags

, , ,

image

Until recently it had been decades since I was last in Arizona. As a newborn, and again as a preschooler, I called the state home. When I was in grade school we visited family there. I don’t remember much of those experiences, but I’ve been interested in going back for awhile now.
Last month, while making our way back east from California, we passed through a small part of the northern Arizona mountains. We weren’t in the state long, but the scenery was pretty spectacular.

image

image

image

image

The variations in the rock color are pretty amazing. I find myself trying to imagine how the formations happened with so many angles.

image

image

image

Our current load is taking us west again and I’m looking forward to heading farther into Arizona and adding to my postcard collection and ever growing photo stash. If I could swing it, I’d add a Joshua Tree to my Arizona purchases, but that ain’t happening. Maybe I can find some seeds. 😛

Until next time, readers, drive safely out there. 🙂

