Tags

,

Waterville, Maine

 dog walking while waiting for trailer to get loaded and going over the bridge from Maine to New Hampshire

Moose still doesn’t seem to me like it should sound the same when speaking of one animal as when speaking of many. I don’t know if that was a decision made by people in Maine or not, but apparently there are enough of them living there to warrant warning signs along the highway. Unfortunately for me and my touristy self, I didn’t get to see a moose while in the state. I didn’t see a lobster either. I wasn’t wholly disappointed with my visit, though. There were plenty of trees, sunshine and blue skies as we traveled the interstate. 

Didn’t get to see a moose, but saw plenty of these signs along the highway

When we headed off the interstate to the receiver, I was treated to the sights of small town life. Small businesses are more plentiful there than franchises and megastores unless you’re in one of the few large cities in the state. 

Overall, I enjoyed my first visit to the state. I think I’d like to visit again before the end of the month of September because I’ve heard the trees look amazing in their autumn colors. But, after investigating a bit about the snowfall amounts in winter, I’m pretty sure I don’t want to be up there after mid October. I’ll just have to wait and see when the company sends us that way again.

Until next time, friends, drive safely 🙂 

