Tags

,

Heading into the city after crossing the GW

Long ago I told my New Jersey native cousin that I wanted to go to New York city. She quickly informed me that I didn’t really. Of course, the New York city I was thinking of visiting included Time Square, the flat iron building, 5th Avenue, Central Park and the Waldorf. Like so many Americans, I had become enamored of the idea that the city was beautiful and had to be experienced by all. 

While I have yet to see any of the aforementioned, famous New York city sites, I believe I have now gained some perspective regarding my cousin’s reaction those years ago. This change has come due to the handful of times I have traveled I95 through New York state thus far.

On the George Washington bridge, the GW

From New Jersey, I95 takes us over the George Washington bridge into New York city. The first time I remember going over the bridge was during rush hour. There are actually two tiers to the bridge with tractor trailers allowed only on the top. In spite of two tiers and 3 lanes in each direction, there were vehicles of every sort packed together and nearly running over each other. The term “rush hour” is definitely misleading in that part of New York!

View of New York city from the GW

Admittedly, I did enjoy the view of the city skyline from atop the bridge. I even saw the tiny figure of Lady Liberty way across the water. 

Once we crossed the bridge, we continued on under several cross over bridges that seemed more like mini tunnels. The pollution from so many people and vehicles was obvious in the air and on the soot covered, concrete walls. 

Many of the buildings were 15 stories or more high and I imagined going home to one of those upper story apartments each day. No, thank you.

Exiting the bridge, entering the city

We did pass a good size park area along the way. I would likely spend a lot of time there if I lived nearby.

Some green space amid the concrete and bricks

Although I found it intriguing to actually see “Queens” on a a directional sign and to know I was truly in “the city that never sleeps”, I’m not sure now if I really want to venture farther into “the Big Apple” seeing as how I’m not much for being in huge crowds or breathing lots of carbon pollutants. I guess I’ll just wait and see what comes next. 

Until next time, friends, drive safely out there 🙂 

